A Brief History of the Village of Waterdown
The Waterdown area has been a place of social life and commerce dating back to the 1600s. The original inhabitants, the Neutral and Seneca Indians, thrived here for thousands of years before migrating to the Lake Huron and Lake Superior area before the British Conquest.
After the American revolution in 1776, many British Loyalists began settling in this area. By 1795, Dundas St. had been established as a major military road running from York (what is now Toronto) to Dundas, Ontario. Perched on the edge of the Niagara Escarpment, the area served as a welcome resting station, helping establish the beginnings of a new and thriving business community.
Growth would soon follow. The potential waterpower provided by the fast moving Grindstone Creek rushing down the escarpment would set the stage for a vibrant milling community that would be aptly named Waterdown. An advertisement selling lots in 1856 promoted the new village by calling it “exceedingly healthy” with “ample water power, good mills in full operation, and plenty of room for manufacturing of all kinds.” ***
The Village of Waterdown was incorporated in 1878. The arrival of the railroad and a railroad station in 1912 would cement the area as a viable and emerging area to live and work.
In 1985, the town of Flamborough passed the by-law that created the Waterdown BIA (Business Improvement Association), and designated the downtown core area as the businesses who form the membership.
*** (Source: Woods, Donald R., Woods, Diana E., “The Mills of Waterdown” )